Tags



A panel from Jim Steranko's 1976 graphic
novel Red Dawn.

I got up this morning and decided to put a pot of coffee on. First odd
thing that happened was that since I only drink about one cup of coffee
anyway I filled the pot halfway with water and poured it in the machine.
Second odd thing was the coffee itself, given to me by a neighbor, almost
freshly ground and with a smell to it like you only get standing too close
to some active volcano. I didn't measure it, I just poured it onto the
filter. Then I turned on the machine and walked away.

About half an hour later I went back to the machine. But something had
happened. Something bad. The housing for the coffee had somehow slid
off to the side a little, just enough that the water hadn't flowed through
into the pot right. I adjusted the housing, pushing it into place with my
finger. The coffee flooded into the pot, fast, and when it did I found out
another weird thing — the pot had only been one-quarter full of water,
not half.

So as it turned out the coffee was Expresso strength. Not the kind you
get at the coffee place on your way to work with their wimp-ass Expresso,
but the real Mediterranean/Arab stuff. This stuff was black and thick like
motor oil and strong enough to get the dead going on a cold, dark morning.

I took a few sips. Then added lots of cream.