Tags



The town square in Linkoping.

I was just on Travelocity looking to see how much it would cost for me
to fly to Indianapolis next fall to visit some of my relatives there. While
I was at it, I decided to find out what it was costing to go to London these
days. And then, just for the hell of it and because I ran across the city
name in a list of cities, I checked what it would cost to fly to Linkoping,
Sweden.

From Spokane (GEG) to Linkoping (LPI) would cost $1,055 US flying next
September.

Of course, I had absolutely no idea where Linkoping was except that it
is evidently somewhere in Sweden.

Wouldn't that be wild, just to pick a place that you had never heard
of almost at random, and then take a vacation there? Even if the place
sucked it would still be a pretty wild adventure — like the explorers
of the old days who didn't really know where the hell they were going
either.

By the way, I'm sure Linkoping is a very fine town. And I now know
where it is.

(PS. Couldn't get the umlated "o" to work, so…I apologize.)